I wouldn’t say it was a difficult journey. Rather, I would like to admit that the circumstances that led to its successful end were heart-wrenching. After my bachelor’s degree in English Language Education, the “heat” started, and like the resilient me, I decided not to give up at all but to learn a skill- from selling to event planning and coordination with Purple oyster events ✨️, to proofreading at an advertising agency (Statement Ghana Limited) to Volunteering with 👣 Trailblazers for orphanage homes and so many part-time gigs.

It made me a strong and wise person. It was tough and rough on certain days. I have tried to hold back on some silent tears and to forge ahead regardless.

Then, I took a step in my career to pursue law and go into the legal profession (family law), the thought has always been there but I felt I didn’t have what it takes to be a lawyer. First of all, funding it was an issue! I wasn’t sure I had the support of my mum on this journey. So, I took the initiative to pursue a related course for my first degree for my Master’s degree.

Development Communications is a field with immense potential to drive real-world change. Through my studies, I learned about numerous success stories where strategic communication played a crucial role in achieving development goals. For instance, public health campaigns that effectively reduced disease spread, environmental initiatives that mobilized communities to take action, and educational programs that improved literacy rates. I was conferred with an honorary M.A Development Communications in April. During those moments, I experienced horrid moments in my personal life, and I  made sure I paid my dues for this study with my own sweat! Honestly, it was worth it because it taught me so many lessons and things about myself. This course actually opened me up to a lot of people in various fields and opportunities for UNESCO projects, of which I am a project coordinator in a senior high school for Ghana 🇬🇭 Commission for UNESCO.

I am not where I want to be yet. Legal studies, specifically family law, comes to mind, and it’s a horrendous one, too!


As I step into my career, I am excited about the possibilities ahead. Whether working with non-profits, government agencies, or international organizations, the skills and knowledge I have gained equip me to contribute meaningfully to various development initiatives. My goal is to leverage communication to bridge gaps, foster understanding, and inspire action.

This experience reminded me of the importance of focusing on my goals and the support of friends and family.

Resilience will best describe this journey!

Leave a comment

Quote of the week

"People ask me what I do in the winter when there's no baseball. I'll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring."

~ Rogers Hornsby

Designed with WordPress